1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Sleep Apnea

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by hotballa, Apr 24, 2013.

Tags:
  1. cardpire

cardpire Member

ok, so "buying a used CPAP machine" is the answer we're waiting for?

2. Invisible Fan

Invisible Fan Contributing Member

Stay tuned folks!
    Same Bat time!!
    Same Bat channel!!!

3. yo

yo Contributing Member

I thought lingling was just going to tell him to rub one out? :confused:

4. ling ling

ling ling Member

I'm not a doctor so take the info with a large grain of salt, as I may have left a lot of information out.

Short answer - get a used CPAP from craigslist. There are a lot of people who try it, don't like it and end up having to sell it there.

-----------

Long answer -

A sleep study, and CPAP cost me ~$800 out of pocket with insurance. If I want to get a replacement CPAP later, I will need to get prescribed again and more out of pocket expense. If I want to adjust the pressure after a few years, I will have to get prescribed again.

The initial prescription consist of
    A sleep study
    - overnight monitoring,
    - brain activity monitoring
    - trial of CPAP
    - trial of nasal and face mask
    - pressure adjustment of CPAP

Once prescribed,
    - There is month long monitored use. They have a chip that I take to the office so they can download and analyze the logs.
    - if you don't use it x hours per night, your insurance may not pay for it.

---------

A used CPAP can go from $100 to $300. You can find deals for a lot less.