1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

William Shakespeare (humbly submitted)

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Gascon, Feb 3, 2002.

1. Gascon

Gascon Member

This topic may very well break the record for time it takes to disappear off the first page, and I may succeed only in placing myself firmly on everyone's "ignore list", but I'll proceed if only because of the slight chance you all may surprise me.

I was wondering what you all think about Shakespeare.

Since I graduated from college with a BFA in Theatre, I've gotten most of my acting work doing classical theatre, mostly Bill Shakespeare. I spent the last two Summers out at a theatre in Wisconsin. It's called the American Players Theatre, and it's one of the largest classical Summer Repertories in the nation. The patrons of that theatre come from all around......Illinois, Idaho, Minnesota, everywhere in the area....and they make a real event out of it. Whole families come every year and make it a kind of family vacation. The theatre is set on the top of a hill in the middle of nowhere, but in a little over twenty years, it's become extremely successful.

And the audiences are like no other audiences in the country. They actually listen . They come for the love of the work. For those of you who are actors, you probably have no idea what it's like to perform Shakespeare in front of an audience and hear them chuckling in appreciation.....not at cheap, physical humor....but at the subtle irony and play on words that Shakespeare very often used.