1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

To Whistle Blow or not to blow, that is the question

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by heypartner, Feb 26, 2011.

1. heypartner

heypartner Contributing Member

So, for the first time in my life I might need to blow the whistle.

Before I begin the story, I've already told the person doing the problem, his boss, and my boss. My boss is the 2nd in command.

Problem is, my company just completed a merger. So this is about protecting the second company.

I am a software developer. The whistle blowing isn't about saying our company is bad; it is about protecting the intellectual property of the company.

Due to the merger, things are in disarray, and I was sent to City X last week (during all the nba trade deadline fun, sigh, lol) to report back to my boss what that office was doing.

Long story short (assuming it is not too long already), I discovered a new 3 month old programmer trying to crack (not hack) our mothership application database. Understand the difference between cracking and hacking....bad vs improvement.

The second application next to the mothership is mine, which is a SaaS app, so during the merging the investors did a 3 week security check of the app; we passed. The mothership app is a desktop app, and the primary intellectual property of the company is a database sold with it...a dongle is required to run the app.

Since there is a dongle, I never and no one ever thought to actually check the security of the db supplied with it. It wasn't my app. Turns out this new employee exposed a very simple hole, and he and his boss are trying to use it to suck the data out for product #3. Honestly, they don't view it as malicious, just an opportunity to move forward.