1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

The impact of outsourcing on the jobs report

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by 3Rings, Sep 6, 2014.

1. 3Rings

3Rings Contributing Member

Looking at the current jobs report and disappointment with the unemployment numbers, I don't think we take into account the impact of outsourcing by major companies in our country.

For example, I currently work in the IT industry. I have experience as a Sr. programmer, project manager, consultant and application architect. 10 years ago, I would have a staff of 10 to 25 IT professionals in the Houston area working with me on multiple projects ranging from web, desktop, SharePoint, windows and even Lotus Notes applications.

Eight years ago, my highly profitable company outsourced many developer positions to India. As a result, I still work in Houston, by myself, but now have 40-50 IT professionals in India that I manage without the manager title or pay. Even with 40-50 developers in India, it still is almost 35% cheaper than having 10-25 Houston area employees. Then you take into account that my responsibilities are those of a manager, but without the manager's pay, it's almost 45-50% in salary savings.

My theory are those jobs are never coming back. This is the new norm. We look at the unemployment rate and expect it will get back to lower than 6%.

But, why would these companies bring these jobs back if they can save 35-to 50% in salaries and healthcare benefits by outsourcing? Why doesn't anyone talk about the impact of outsourcing when discussing the unemployment rate and the potential that outsourced jobs are not likely to return to the US economy, regardless of who is POTUS.

#1 3Rings, Sep 6, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2014
  2. itstheyear3030