1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

The glass-half-full take on the Oladipo trade

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by mightybosstone, Mar 25, 2021.

1. mightybosstone

So I've been frequenting the GARM for a couple of years now, and I'd never created a thread until today, because generally before I have a chance to have an opinion, another poster has already eloquently expressed how I felt on a topic.

But after today's admittedly disappointing trade deadline (not exactly new for Rockets fans), I have to take the opportunity to call out all the sad sacks in here acting like the sky is falling because a guy they were desperate to get rid of 10 minutes earlier didn't net them a superstar package.

I can understand the disappointment, but if you're a Houston sports fan and certainly someone who's paid attention to Houston sports in the last two years, today is hardly a catastrophe of epic proportions. Was it a good trade? No. Does it give them a significant piece for the rebuild? Definitely not. But when I see posters calling it "one of the most lopsided trades in history," I have to take a step back and question what your expectations were for today in the first place.

Here are some reasons you should not be freaking out and should ultimately have a more positive outlook on the events of today than negative:

1. At 1:59 p.m., most of you were losing your freaking minds that Stone didn't move Dipo and would've taken the last pick of the 2nd round in 2045 and a ham sandwich if it had been offered to you. 10 minutes later a deal comes along that's better than just a second rounder, and it's some huge atrocity.