1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Tennis equipment

Discussion in 'Other Sports' started by HAYJON02, Aug 4, 2011.

1. HAYJON02

HAYJON02 Contributing Member

Man I didn't realize how much I missed this sport. Any other tennis players on here? C'mon YOFs, you know you love tennis. Even the old and the lame can enjoy tennis.

I was feeling like a bit of a fatty until I recently started playing 4-5 nights a week to get back in shape. Nothing else motivates me like chasing a tennis ball. It makes me use my dog brain; the chase instinct is so powerful. I'm glad it's been 108 out. Nobody in their right mind wants to be outside. Oh well, I'll be dead of heatstroke soon.

What are you guys using for equipment? I've been using the same racquet for over a decade now, so I figure its time for a new boomstick. The technology has probably come a ways in ten years. I switched out and retired the good old Prostaff 6.1 Classic for a Six-One 95 K Factor. It seems like the closest modern version. Anybody else play with it? It's a discontinued model but I got one brand new for $80 online. Just brought it to the tennis center to get it strung. Went with NXT 16 @ 60lbs tension.

[​IMG]

I've been teaching my girlfriend to play, but lord is she awful. Oh man its painful but I do get cardio at least. I picked up a Tennis Cube ball shooter with oscillation online, so that usually gets me my reps in between tapping it to my girlfriend and chasing her wild shots.

2. TheChosenOne

TheChosenOne Contributing Member

I've always wanted a ball machine. How much did that Tennis Cube cost ya?

3. pgsxdjp

pgsxdjp Member

just started playing not too long ago. fun sport. i use a dunlop 4d 300 tour.

4. HAYJON02