1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[TECH HELP] Dish Network Satellite setup

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by TexasStake, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. TexasStake

    TexasStake Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ok so according to DISH, the only way to fix my problem of not being able to view ESPN in HD is that I have to set my receiver up to sattelite 72.7 is that I need a technician to come out for a $95 fee. If this is the case I'm cancelling my service.

    Does anyone know how I can do this without a technician? It can't be that difficult because most of the time the tech would come out and be on his phone to someone else getting directions and all he really does is hit a few buttons on the remote.
     
  2. TexasStake

    TexasStake Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have on my settings satellites 77, 72, and 61.5 but not 72.7 Whats weird is this happened about 2 months ago with the HD version of ESPN channels and they were able to run through a couple of trouble shooting tips with me and it fixed itself. I don't think this is the reason Im not getting HD channels on ESPN I think there is just a glitch. If that were the case I wouldve never been able to watch ESPN HD from the start.
     
  3. aeroman10

    aeroman10 Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    50
    Call Dish and ask to be transferred to the retention department.
    Tell them that you will cancel if they don't fix this for free.
    I am pretty sure they will waive the fee
     
  4. Space Ghost

    Space Ghost Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    15,010
    Likes Received:
    6,182
    It depends on if you new a new dish. I am not familiar with Dish Network and their array of messy hardware. You wouldn't have this issue with DirecTV.

    I would suggested posting on satelliteguys.us They can tell you exactly what you need to do.
     
  5. ItsMyFault

    ItsMyFault Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    15,646
    Likes Received:
    978
    This should work, I've done it before.

    If you threaten to cancel and get DirecTV instead, they will send out a technician and waive the fee.
     
  6. TexasStake

    TexasStake Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    19
    WWWWWWTTTTTFFFFFFFFFFF read this F"in convo:

    Joji (ID: 7J8): Hi, my name is Joji (ID: 7J8). How may I help you?
    Joji (ID: 7J8): Hi Paul. How are you today?
    Paul Childres: Hi Im good thanks
    Joji (ID: 7J8): It's nice to know that are you doing good. Thank you.
    Paul Childres: I have an issue that Im unsure about
    Paul Childres: Ive had this issue for a few weeks and contacted you guys on Friday about it and the answer/solution I was given doesn't make much sense
    Paul Childres: the issue is I'm missing my HD channels just on the ESPN channels (ESPN, ESPN2 ect...)
    Paul Childres: the SD version comes in fine, but the HD channel isn't listed on my program guide
    Joji (ID: 7J8): Sorry to hear that.
    Paul Childres: I've gone through all the troubleshooting steps, and at the end of it all I was told the reason its not coming in for me is I don't have satelite 72.7 on my receiver
    Paul Childres: I've had ESPN HD programming for a while now and have only had issues up until recently
    Paul Childres: so the 72.7 satellite reasoning doesn't really seem logical
    Joji (ID: 7J8): Yes, Once you upgrade your package to Latino Max you can get ESPN (ESPN) in HD
    Paul Childres: Latino Max?? I have Americas top 120+ multisport
    Joji (ID: 7J8): Yes.
    Joji (ID: 7J8): Once you upgrade your package to Latino Max, your Dish Satellite need to upgrade also to get ESPN in HD.
    Paul Childres: since when?
    Paul Childres: Ive always had ESPN HD without any issues. Whats Latino Max have to do with ESPN HD?
    Joji (ID: 7J8): Let me check that for you.

    ------------------------

    WTF is this guy a 10 year old? Does he not comprehend my english???? He isn't competent in the least! OMG
     
  7. Space Ghost

    Space Ghost Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    15,010
    Likes Received:
    6,182
    Seriously dude. Check out satelliteguys.us forums. They will tell you what you need to do.
     
  8. LCAhmed

    LCAhmed Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,034
    Likes Received:
    1,631
    Probably need to point your dish in a slightly different angle. I have family friends who do dish work. They have to point the dish in a certain direction and then get the code (72.7) correct.
     
  9. Uprising

    Uprising Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    42,172
    Likes Received:
    5,341
    LOL....dude trying to sucker you into another set of channels.
     
  10. MIAGI99

    MIAGI99 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    355
    I would not mess with you dish alignment yourself b/c you will knock out other channels. That being said, have you done a hard boot on the receiver? Remove the card and let it redownload guide/info.
     

Share This Page

  • About ClutchFans

    Since 1996, ClutchFans has been loud and proud covering the Houston Rockets, helping set an industry standard for team fan sites. The forums have been a home for Houston sports fans as well as basketball fanatics around the globe.

  • Support ClutchFans!

    If you find that ClutchFans is a valuable resource for you, please consider becoming a Supporting Member. Supporting Members can upload photos and attachments directly to their posts, customize their user title and more. Gold Supporters see zero ads!


    Upgrade Now