1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Tailgating Advice

Discussion in 'Houston Texans' started by Jimmy Chitwood, Jul 14, 2015.

1. Jimmy Chitwood

Howdy yall, I'm going to be tailgating at NRG for the Texas A&M vs. Arizona State game in early September. I've never done it at NRG before, so I figured the best thing to do would be to ask the pros (that's you people). I've looked at the official tailgate rules, but I was looking more for pointers.

I'm trying to get somewhere between 20-30 people, so one of the main things I don't know is whether or not it would be best to get one or two parking passes.

Any other tips would be much appreciated.

2. pgsxdjp

pgsxdjp Member

IMO one parking pass is too small for 20-30 ppl, but then again a lot of the fun of tailgates comes from going around to the others.

3. clutch citizen

clutch citizen Contributing Member

For that many people, I'd say 2 passes for comfort. The spaces are small to begin with.

On a related note, what is proper etiquette as a tailgate attendee. I have the image of everyone sharing food with all comers. But in my experience, it felt weird to just walk up and mingle. It almost felt like crashing a party. If there are different types of tailgates, how do you discern the welcoming from the private preferred?

4. marks0223

marks0223 2017 and 2022 World Series Champions
    Supporting Member

Best advice to save money and maximize space for a large group is to get there early and use one of the many grassy areas. You can take up as much space as you’d like there. Blue Lot 22 will probably be the best Tailgate lot for this game. The east end of Lot 22 has a grassy area. Just across the drive lane is another grassy area in Lot 21.