1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Some of my science catastrophies

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by PhiSlammaJamma, Feb 3, 2003.

1. PhiSlammaJamma

Another thread brough up some old memories. So here are my goofs in science. Anyone in science can relate. And remember I was a trained professional.

Liquid Nitrogen:
    One time my frozen cell vials fell to the bottom of my liquid nitrogen tank and were flotaing on the liquid nitrogen. I had to get them out of that predicament. I reached my protective glove in and tried to pick them off the top of the freezing liquid. The protective glove got wet, almost froze my fingers off, and so I came up with plan B. I opted to pour the liquid nitrogen into a big container on the floor and then scoop out my cell vials as they floated. I poured the liquid with great success. The container held up for about 5 minutes and then i watched in horror as it started to crack and then explode. Ever see terminator 2? The liquid nitrogen shot across the floor like a pool of blood, hit my shoes, and then began to vaporize. I ran like hell. My socks were frozen solid. But I survived and I was able to revive my cells. So it all turned out ok.

Bunson Burner: I accidentally left the bunson burner on and left the room. Normally this is ok. But I happened to leave it on underneath a cabinet containing some volatile solutions. By the time I got back the solutions were spewing all over the place. Good fun.