1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Smartphones

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by theWIGMAN, Jan 29, 2009.

1. theWIGMAN

theWIGMAN Member

Smartphone newbie here. I upgraded to my first smartphone (a Tmobile Dash) a few months ago for wifi because I was suddenly spending a lot of time at the med ctr and needed an email/internet device. Didn't know I could do all kinds of cool stuff with the phone. For example, I'm now running Nintendo, SuperNintendo, and SegaGenesis emu's. There are utilities to overclock the phone's weak CPU on-demand to help with the game play. The phone didn't come with internal GPS, but I have Garmin turn-by-turn voice navigation running on it while paired with an external bluetooth GPS receiver. I've also upgraded to a hacked Windows Mobile 6.1 OS which has made the phone more useful (like now I can use a larger capacity SDHC storage card for mp3's, roms, Garmin maps, & assorted media). Recently, I discovered the joys of using Microsoft Voice Command and Live Search (which also employs voice input).

Needless to say, I'm pretty geeked about my first smartphone and wondering what cool stuff you can do with other possibly better, more powerful smartphones like the iPhone, Blackberries, and such. So name your smartphone and list some neat stuff you're doing with it or some cool/useful/fun app that you're running on it (include hacks too -- especially if they make your smartphone better/more useful). Also, list some things your phone can't do that you wish it could do. For instance, I wish my little Tmobile Dash had internal GPS, accelerometer, faster CPU, more memory, and a large touch screen.

2. IROC it

IROC it Contributing Member

Is this the "I wish I had AT&T with an iPhone 3g" thread? ;)