1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

SLR Camera for Indoor Photography

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Zboy, Feb 3, 2010.

Tags:
  1. Zboy

Zboy Contributing Member

I need recommendations for a SLR camera which performs nicely in indoor environment (for my toddler's photo collection). Of course it has to be capable outdoors too. My budget is anywhere from $500-$1500. I am a novice but I have intentions of learning more about photography.

Any recommendatons based on user experience? Is it worth it to get a used one to learn and then upgrade later?

2. Prince

Prince Member

Canon for indoors. Check t1i at buydig.com, 899 and comes with 2 sets of lens, 18-55 and 55-250. lots of extras too, like battery, bag and filters.

1 person likes this.
  3. SwoLy-D

SwoLy-D Contributing Member

If you know how to set up shots manually and don't want to leave it on "auto" all the time, then get an SLR, not a point-and-shoot.

The major difference between the T1i and its predecessor is the ability to record movies in HD (1080i format). I don't know if that's what you'll need, but it's nice to have. As a step down from the T1i, the XSi and the Xs might be good enough.

I recommend the Canon XSi or the XS (on sale now at Worst Buy or other retailers). It's the lower end of the EOS system. It's much cheaper than the T1i, and will do what you're looking for.

The good thing about buying a certain brand is that you can share accessories like flashes, lenses, etc., so take that also into consideration.

So if you know someone with an SLR and lenses and such things, ask them what they think (not necessarily to share, but their opinion).
    YES. :cool:

1 person likes this.
  4. tested911

tested911 Member

Hmmm Canon or Nikon...