1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Rockets unfazed by trade rumors (Houston Chronicle )

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by vtkp99, Feb 18, 2004.

1. vtkp99

vtkp99 Contributing Member

Feb. 18, 2004, 1:04AM

Rockets unfazed by trade rumors
    Opinions vary on coach's reassurance
    By MEGAN MANFULL
    Copyright 2004 Houston Chronicle

Kelvin Cato's mind isn't bogged down with concerns about being traded, but it's also not something he is ruling out.

Coach Jeff Van Gundy said Monday he expects the Rockets' roster to remain the same through Thursday's 2 p.m. trade deadline. The announcement seemed to relax a few of the Rockets; others said they will wait and see.

"That don't mean nothing," said Cato, who had 15 points and 10 rebounds in Tuesday's 107-81 victory over the Washington Wizards. "That's his opinion. If the right trade comes along, I think he might still take it. This is a league where ain't nobody safe nowhere. You just have to keep playing basketball and not worry about it.

"I'm glad he thinks this is the team that's going to be out there. But if the right trade come along, I think he still might pull that trigger."

Being traded became a concern for a number of players after popular reserve Moochie Norris was sent to the New York Knicks on Dec. 30 for Clarence Weatherspoon. At the time, Yao Ming was worried he might be next, and Steve Francis said he was going to move into a hotel so as not to get comfortable here.

Francis was only joking about moving into a hotel, but he has spent much of the past two weeks at the forefront of trade rumors since he missed the team flight to Phoenix on Feb. 1. Van Gundy tried to put an end to all the speculation, which pleased some of the players.