There was no need for him to even be touching McCoy. He was well out of bounds when he did. The first roughing call was BS, that one was not. Dumb play by the Sooners.
The announcers are thinking the ground cannot cause a fumble and they are right. UT caught a break. Whew!
But on any reception if he loses it before he comes up, it's incomplete. It was definitely a good call.
WOW, never ever saw a team I cheer for actually being the beneficial side of the breaks as much as UT has. OU fans are going to b##tch a lot if they ever lose. Not that it's not warranted if this keeps up.
I disagree. He was going for the ball while McCoy was still in bounds and let up as soon as he went out. He barely touched him and tried to keep McCoy from falling down. I'm rooting for UT by the way.
Unless the ground causes it. He had position when he hit the ground. I'm glad it went UT's way, but the ground cannot cause a fumble.
But he never had complete possession of it. If a WR dives for a ball, catches it in the air and it comes out when he hits the ground, it's incomplete.
If the OU DB was an untouched receiver not in the end zone, do you really think it would have been called a reception? Not me.
I could see that it might not be a late it. But to call it flopping is silly. McCoy's momentum is carrying him into the sideline where there are tons of players, officials, coaches and wires. To slip is not uncommon there. Hell, I heard players were slipping all over the field in warm-ups for some reason.
I disagree that he never had possession but the refs called it and it stands so there is no use in arguing about.
One thing Herbstreit is right about: Since neither team has had a competitive game so far, we'll find out how who is more well-conditioned and mentally tough in the 4th quarter.
LOL! That one was BS. An untouched receiver? Who knows. From wikipedia: A sometimes controversial rule is usually referred to as "the ground cannot cause a fumble". If a player is tackled and loses control of the ball at or after the time he makes contact with the ground, the player is treated as down and the ball is not in play. However, if a ball carrier falls without an opponent contacting him, the ground can indeed cause a fumble. So, I wouldn't be suprised if it was not called a reception in that scenario.
I didn't see that Oh well, I mean I am glad it went in favor of Texas anyway but I believe it was a pick.
Do you really need to try to go all out and try to block the punt..I mean godangit! oh my god nevermind...now that was a FLOP