1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

really contemplating business school

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by SWTsig, Oct 28, 2008.

1. SWTsig

SWTsig Contributing Member

any recommendations? studying for the GMAT, specific experiences, etc? my undergrad is deservedly average, but i've got some decent work experience and could definitely get some good recommendations so i'm hoping a solid GMAT score would go a long way in helping me get into a decent business school... rice, UT, SMU, etc.

i work in commercial real estate and want to focus on real estate financing, transactions, analysis, etc.

2. Supermac34

Supermac34 President, Von Wafer Fan Club

I take it you want to go for a MBA. You should price out the various programs if you are paying yourself. I was very surprised at the prices for some of the programs.

3. xcharged

xcharged Member

I did not go to business school. You know who else didn’t go to business school? LeBron James, Tracy McGrady, Kobe Bryant. They went right from high school to the NBA, so …

4. Yonkers

Yonkers Contributing Member

I thought about going back to school to get MBA. But even UH is $60k for the program. And then take into account opportunity costs, ie time spent away from home and doing other things. In the end I decided against it.
    But that's mainly because I'm in a well-paid job and could probably advance myself in other ways, on my own time, without spending that type of money. If you're still fairly new into your profession I think the MBA would be a good way to go.

5. TexasFight

TexasFight Member

I am applying for the UT MBA program in Houston... I think its the best one if you want to remain in Houston and work full time.

if you want more info - contact me through the board.

6. Supermac34