1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Paging IT Proffessionals - IE Remote Desktop / Virtual Machines

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by larsv8, Jul 2, 2021.

1. larsv8

larsv8 Contributing Member

Sooo the Pandemic has been interesting for me.

I have been working from home for the past 16 months and frankly it has been awesome.

My primary job is busy about 40% of the time, and 60% of time pretending to be busy. Because of this I took on another contract gig which also requires about 40% of my time. Its basically doubled my income. Since my desk is large and I have multiple docking stations and six monitors, I am easily able to be responsive for both jobs, while performing all the required tasks timely.

There has been some discussion about returning to the office part time, and I am trying to figure out if I can keep this going.

Can I remote desktop into a Home PC from work laptop, and then from there remote into the second job laptop, which would be stationed at home? Is there some sort of software to manage this? Do business networks block remote desktops?

2. London'sBurning

London'sBurning Contributing Member

From an IT perspective, I wouldn't let you on my assignment's network just to remote into another company's network to do two jobs at the same time. It poses too many security vulnerabilities and can be tracked. It's an especially bad idea if the type of work you're doing involves for instance healthcare patient access records or other forms of work that require client confidentiality that you don't want to run the risk of being breached.