1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Online dating - good or bad?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by rm365, Mar 11, 2004.

Tags:
  1. rm365

rm365 Contributing Member

So I met this chick online in a chatroom. Pathetic, I know.
    Anyway, we started talking on the phone and stuff and she seems interested.
    I've never done this online thing before so I was wondering if it is a good idea to pursue the relationship further or not. My friends seem to think its a bad idea, and they say that she could be a psycho or something. They don't have any experience in online dating though. So if anyone out there has any experience with this sort of thing, please lemme know. Thanks.

2. fadeaway

fadeaway Contributing Member

She's a person, just like you. Give it a shot. I haven't done it myself, but I wouldn't be opposed to the idea.

What kind of chatroom?

3. rm365

Cool, thanks... it was a "romance" chat room in yahoo chat.

4. codell

codell Contributing Member

While not in a chatroom, I did meet my wife online. So it can and does work. :)

5. Red Chocolate

Red Chocolate Contributing Member

IT IS BAD. Meet girls in person instead, like at school, a gym, or church/religious institution. It's not impossible that there are no decent girls to talk to online, but generally a significant majority of girls you will come across there have some kind of strange issues (that you will likely find out about after you date them for a year). :confused:

Women in general are social creatures; it is better (for you and her) to talk almost always in person or on the phone exclusively if possible. If you are just talking to the woman online it is easier for her to be deceptive with you, or for you or her to misinterpret things that are said.

6. coma

coma Contributing Member