1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

  2. ROCKETS GAMEDAY
    The Rockets are back! Houston hits the road when they take on Zion, Ingram, Valanciunas and the Pelicans in New Orleans tonight. Join Clutch at 6:45pm CT for pregame as we watch the game live!

    LIVE! Rockets vs. Pelicans

[NEWB] PC BUILD

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by FlyerFanatic, Nov 30, 2013.

  1. shastarocket

    shastarocket Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    13,773
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    I agree with you and perhaps I should have added a disclaimer to my advice.

    Having said that, WOW does your post drip with douchebaggery!

    No one here is suggesting that you should go with the chinese psu that came out of your cereal box. If you want to be critical about my suggestion, it would be wise to actually evaluate the psu I posted rather than spew generalities.
     
  2. Xenochimera

    Xenochimera Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,929
    Likes Received:
    25

    Wow really? did you know that channel well and seasonic are the 2 primary OEMs for corsair PSUs?? pretty much two of the leading brands in the PSU business.....
     
  3. ItsMyFault

    ItsMyFault Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    15,645
    Likes Received:
    978
    I kind of wish I had gotten 860W on my PSU. I went with the 760W AX series from Corsair because the 860 was out of stock. I hope it doesn't come to bite me later. I tried looking for a video card this weekend but I just can't find one that's in stock and also for a decent price.
     
  4. shastarocket

    shastarocket Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    13,773
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Damn, what are the specs for your build?
     
  5. ItsMyFault

    ItsMyFault Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    15,645
    Likes Received:
    978
    CPU - i7 4770K
    CPU Cooler - Corsair H100i (Going to replace those Corsair fans with two Noctua NF-F12's)
    Case - Fractal R4
    Motherboard - Asus Z87 Deluxe/Quad
    Storage: 240gb Samsung Evo SSD (will probably buy an additional 1 TB HDD for media soon)
    Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 1600 mhz
    Video Card: Not completely sure yet
    Power Supply: Corsair 760w AX760
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. shastarocket

    shastarocket Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    13,773
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    A quick word to you first timers:

    The purpose of thermal paste is to fill in and overcome the air gaps caused by imperfections between the cpu and cooling device. The stuff has better thermal conductivity than air, but is worse than metal. For this reason slathering on too much will actually defeat the purpose.

    Tl;DR: Watch a short video on how to properly apply thermal grease
     
  7. FlyerFanatic

    FlyerFanatic YOU BOYS LIKE MEXICO!?! YEEEHAAWW
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    179
    yeah...pcpartpicker tells you up top if the parts you chose are compatible
     
  8. FlyerFanatic

    FlyerFanatic YOU BOYS LIKE MEXICO!?! YEEEHAAWW
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    179
    went ahead and ordered the parts today. appreciate all the responses and help.

    heres what i went with:

    processor: i5-3570k
    mobo: gigabyte GA-Z77
    ram: g.skill ripjaw series 8GB
    SSD: samsung 840 EVO 250 GB
    HDD: WD caviar black 1 TB
    vid card: asus geforce GTX 670
    case: nzxt tempest 210
    power supply: corsair 650w 80+
    dvd drive: lite-on
    monitor: acer G236HLBbd
    windows 7

    decided to go ahead and throw in the SSD, figure that was prob best. that way can just put windows on it and use other drive for whatever else. apparently SSD's boots up windows ridiculously fast.
     
  9. wowimmagical

    wowimmagical Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    147
    should have gotten a better monitor. whats the point of such a powerful computer when you get a ****ty 60 hz monitor..looks terrible
     
  10. LCAhmed

    LCAhmed Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,034
    Likes Received:
    1,631
    Congrats bro! It looks like a beast build! Enjoy your new build. I am sure you'll love it!
     
  11. FlyerFanatic

    FlyerFanatic YOU BOYS LIKE MEXICO!?! YEEEHAAWW
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    179
    thanks man, appreciate your help. now the tricky part, actually building the thing! the newegg video looks like its decent enough though. if anything i'll call a friend who's built a few of mine in the past if i get stuck.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. FlyerFanatic

    FlyerFanatic YOU BOYS LIKE MEXICO!?! YEEEHAAWW
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    179
    its up and running!

    quick question.

    i formatted my 1 TB hard drive...is there anything else i need to do before i start adding files to it? or can i just save/copy + paste stuff into it and its good too go?
     
  13. ItsMyFault

    ItsMyFault Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    15,645
    Likes Received:
    978
    It should be good to go.
     
  14. FlyerFanatic

    FlyerFanatic YOU BOYS LIKE MEXICO!?! YEEEHAAWW
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    179
    so tried moving BF4 from SSD to HDD...didnt work.. at least not that i could tell. the two folders which have the game and origin program on moved, but when i went to boot up it asked to d-load again...

    EDIT: also when i moved them back onto the SSD...go to open origin (BF4 uses this program) it says its updating...which is fine..but then it loads up a bunch of .dlls and other icons onto my desktop. if i delete em, wont work...whats up with that? anyway to get rid of em off my desktop and still allow origin/BF4 run?
     
    #54 FlyerFanatic, Dec 14, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2013
  15. Scionxa

    Scionxa Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,155
    Likes Received:
    224
    Just bought this SSD yesterday. ****ing beast.
     
  16. Duncan McDonuts

    Duncan McDonuts Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    10,125
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    You can't copy/paste installed programs. You can only do that if you use a ghosting program. You'll have to reinstall BF4.

    Congrats on the build.
     
  17. shastarocket

    shastarocket Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    13,773
    Likes Received:
    1,082
  18. Svpernaut

    Svpernaut Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    1,026
  19. FlyerFanatic

    FlyerFanatic YOU BOYS LIKE MEXICO!?! YEEEHAAWW
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    179
    ah ok. thanks.
     
  20. FlyerFanatic

    FlyerFanatic YOU BOYS LIKE MEXICO!?! YEEEHAAWW
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    179
    yeah boot up time is unreal. glad i went with an SSD. i might never be able to go back to a standard hard drive booting windows ever again.

    though whats with this SSD not coming with a tray to fit in a case slot? i mean i get most prob are buying for a laptop so they wont need it. but im sure theres a significant amount of people who use em in their builds. seems odd they wouldnt just throw one in for those people.
     

Share This Page