1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Need Input] Bass Guitar Cover

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by roxxfan, Sep 26, 2012.

1. roxxfan

roxxfan Contributing Member

Guys I need constructive criticism only. I am barely starting out on the bass, and I need your input on this cover. The song is Animal I Have Become by Three Days Grace. I am playing it in standard bass tuning (EADG) with a pick. The guitar is a Squire by Fender. I'm a full time student and I play in my free time. I know I suck, but I am looking to improve gradually. I am using a medium-grade webcam and I know the frames are kinda slow; I also need a better audio recorder. I was bored so I decided to do this. If anyone here plays the bass, I need input on what I need to do to get better. Thanx.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=egaayP9Fu5o

2. DudeWah

DudeWah Member

You should join Ultimate-Guitar's forums. You'd be able to get the advice and everything else you would ever need there. Not saying you wouldn't here, but that community is a bit more suited to your need I think.

3. weakfromtoday

weakfromtoday Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

Not too bad, roxxfan. The main thing I'd suggest to work on is up stroke and down stroke picking. It looked like you were using all (or nearly all) down strokes. I'm sure google can find you a few good picking drills.

4. Stone Cold Hakeem

Stone Cold Hakeem Contributing Member

Hey Roxxfan, fellow bassist here. I'm not familiar with the tune but I thought you sounded pretty good.

You should check out Talkbass.com. It is pretty much the Clutchfans of bass playing. Lot of guys there that have toured/done session gigs with some pretty famous artists. There is a thread there devoted to practice drills. Lots of great stuff in there.

5. Rockets2K