1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Losing a Superstar for Nothing

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by MrRoboto, Mar 16, 2012.

1. MrRoboto

MrRoboto Member

First - I am no expert in the business of sports. I prefer the game over the business.

I am unclear on this topic of losing a superstar for nothing. It seems losing a superstar for nothing could be equal or greater to losing a superstar to trade. The Dwight Howard situation is an example.

How is trading Dwight Howard better than having a max salary off the books? It isn't as if you are able to trade a superstar for a superstar. Why is there an advantage to trade him for role players, bad contracts or expiring contracts instead of letting him walk? I can see getting draft pics as part of the package as potentially beneficial, but isn't having extreme cap room also beneficial?

How is this "nothing"?

1 person likes this.
  2. ItsMyFault

ItsMyFault Contributing Member

Because most "superstars" these days are looking to play in big markets. Orlando isn't exactly one of the bigger markets.

3. DonnyMost

DonnyMost be kind. be brave.

That's not what he asked about.

He asked about the benefit of trading a player vs. letting him walk.

In most cases, I'd say if your star player is going to walk, trading him for picks is the best thing to do, or young, unproven talent... or at the very least, even more expiring contracts.

Trading a star for decent complimentary pieces is kind of dumb (i.e. how Orlando did with TMac). Like willfully stepping onto the mediocrity treadmill.

#3 DonnyMost, Mar 16, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2012
  4. heypartner

heypartner Contributing Member