1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Just started playing guitar

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Steve_Francis_rules, Oct 5, 2001.

1. Steve_Francis_rules

As the topic says, I just started playing guitar. I know its not much, but I'm very proud to say that I can play the first few bars of one of my all-time favorite songs, Nothing Else Matters (Metallica).
    I was just wondering if any of the musicians on here had any tips they could offer me. Any help would be appreciated.

2. red

red Contributing Member

playing the first couple bars of nothing else matters isnt something to brag about...u dont even have to hold down any strings to play it...but then again that was my first song too...good luck and enjoy...u might want to get a basic chords book...

3. Zac D

Zac D Contributing Member

Like red said, learning chords is really important; when you're playing something like the beginning of Nothing Else Matters, try fingering the Em even though you're not playing those strings. It's good to get in the habit of fingering chords while picking so that you can keep your fingers mostly in one place and change strings using (what will eventually be) familiar motions.

4. RocketsPimp

RocketsPimp Contributing Member

Good topic. I've been thinking about learning how to play the guitar for awhile, but don't know if I should start on an acoustic or an electric. Any advice?

5. Zac D

Zac D Contributing Member

As a practical matter, electric would be easier for you to actually push down the strings and hold 'em there until you develop calluses. On an acoustic, it would hurt more, but you'd probably toughen up faster =)

6. red

red Contributing Member