1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Job rant/encouragement needed

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by NewRoxFan, Mar 1, 2011.

1. NewRoxFan

NewRoxFan Member

I feel weird complaining, in part because so many are unemployed, and of course the over the internet thing, but...

I work in the computer industry. I am over 50, have a wife and kids, a nice house, I am pretty smart, I think I work hard. My job is in corporate communications, which usually means it has high visibility and impact on the success of the company(ies) I work for. And usually high visibility and impact means high stress. I have been doing it for over thirteen years. I relocated here to take a position years ago with a Houston-based company, and left that company to take a position with a smaller firm that eventually was acquired and led to a layoff, which led me to another small company, which I left to join a larger company, which led to another layoff in December of 2008. Since then I have had two contract positions, a part-time position for 6 months (filling in for someone on maternity) and the current (full-time) contract position I have had for the past 7 months.

I hate it. Literally hate the job. I work most nights (company is based in California), some weekends. I support two business units, one which I enjoy working with (and they like my work), the other I can't stand (and they dislike me and complain about my work).

The stress I feel is constant. I wake up at 3am most nights, just worrying about or stressing over work. I dread opening up email in the morning, and I have answering the phone.