1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

IT Career Advice

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by kubli9, Jan 14, 2013.

1. kubli9

kubli9 Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

I know a lot of people on here work in computer/IT related fields and was hoping I could get some advice.

I've been working as an x-ray tech for five years and just finished my bachelors degree at UT. I got my degree in sociology, it isn't a field I ever planned to work in but I wanted to have the degree just because I think it will help me in the long run. I love my job and am in no rush to leave it, but I want to have the freedom to leave this job and possibly work from home in the future. I've always been interested in doing something with computers so I've looked into taking classes to learn web design or something in that field, do any of y'all have advice on a segment in this field that is the best to learn?

2. Dei

Dei Member

Graphics design? Like making logos?

3. kubli9

Supporting Member

I should've been more clear, I meant web programming. I'm more interested in programming/coding.

4. iJHolmes

iJHolmes Member

If you're looking for a Job in IT. get your certificates. Im graduating next year with a degree in computer science and most jobs out there will hire someone with certs and experience over someone with a degree. I started getting certs last year and i'm starting an internship in a couple of weeks. You can broad your options of what you want to do by just doing those two things. IT is a big field and you have many options.