1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Interesting UT acceptance story!

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Joshaaronb, Mar 22, 2007.

Tags:
  1. Joshaaronb

Joshaaronb Member

When I graduated I had a ton of friends heading off to UT, most of them had to go for the summer program despite many of them having great grades and High SAT scores (note: I went to a really competitive HS, I had a straight A avg. and was in the second quarter). I had one friend who did just as good as I did, first quarter, 1250 on the SAT and had to go provisional.

The funny part to this story is I also had a friend that went to church with me that had equally good grades but got a 720 on her SAT, no lie. She got in non-provisional, no questions asked.

Is this just a fluke or does this happen often?

2. hoopgod13

hoopgod13 Contributing Member

top 10% rule in full effect

happens all the time

3. redefined

redefined Contributing Member

It's BS, the UT system. I didn't get in the first time. But I applied my Freshman year of college and got in as a transfer. I was like OK, why didn't you just accept me in the first place? I never had any intention of going there so it didn't matter to me. Obviously, I didn't transfer, thank God. It might actually been a good thing I didn't get in during HS because my damn parents would've forced me to have gone there.

My sister has a 4.0, I don't know her SAT score, but she just got in yesterday. She was also telling me one of her friends with a higher GPA and SAT score didn't get in. I really don't understand what they pull out of their asses.

I don't want to waste any energy dealing with things that have to do with UT or Austin in general.

4. WWR

WWR Member