1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

I'm a runner

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by basso, Jul 3, 2009.

1. basso

basso Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

and so hot.

I know pulchritude makes batman uncomfortable.

[rquoter]I'm a Runner: Sarah Palin
    The former Vice Presidential candidate opens up about her running life and explains why she's still on the trail.
    By Dan Simmons

Residence: Wasilla, Alaska

When did you start running?
    I grew up in a running family. My parents caught the running craze in the mid '70s and we grew up doing family runs. I've been running now easy for 35 years.

Do you remember your first race?
    My dad was a track coach and he'd get all the neighborhood kids together and take us to Anchorage for track meets when we were very young. Anchorage is 50 miles from Wasilla. And ever since we were little, we'd do 10-K races as family fun runs.

Click here for more photos of Governor Palin, the runner.
    So you grew up running with your siblings?
    Yes, and my siblings and parents were better runners than I was. My mom and dad were marathoners, and one of my sisters is a marathoner. Dad ran Boston a couple times, Mom would win her age group or at least get a ribbon in the big races, and I would just try to keep up.

Sounds like your skills were more suited to basketball?
    Well, I appreciated the fact that in running I needed guts more than anything. I could do fine just being really determined. I was thankful that I didn't need a whole lot of skills to run.

And running was your first athletic activity, even before basketball?