1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

If Bosh says no to Houston, How do Rockets win a championship?

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by brian_chapman, May 15, 2010.

1. brian_chapman

brian_chapman Member

chicken or the egg.

Eggs being allstars/primadonnas and chicken being the championship.

You need allstars to win championship, but to attract allstars to your team either signing or by trade you must show the allstars you are a contender already.

But how can you be a contender without allstars? Chicken or egg.

I say primadonnas because lebron,amare,wade, all say no to Houston because of market or fame. Houston has more talent than Nets,Chicago,Clippers yet you dont hear our name.

Bosh seems to be the only allstar available that isnt seeking large market. But I could be wrong. Yao obviously isnt a primadonna but he is aging.

So, if Bosh says no to Houston , explain to me how to win a championship.

Our nucleus is Brooks,Martin,Ariza,Scola,Yao,Budinger,Hill. Problem is that isnt a contender (assuming Yao declines some). Now if Yao plays at a MVP type level then yes thats a contender, but I dont expect that.

How do you turn our nucleus into a legit contender? Do you tank to get a #1 pick? They had that chance this year and didnt do it. They cant sign an allstar because of the cap rules. The only option is hope Morey can draft a "stud" at 14. But those odds are slim that a stud will be there at 14. And of course future drafts,same rules apply.

Do you trade assets Hill,Budinger,maybe Brooks for an allstar? But whom? The allstars that win championships are mostly primadonnas and will refuse trade to Houston.

Explain how to get out of this situation? If ever.

Lets look at the past Rocket teams: