1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Golf Courses in Houston

Discussion in 'Other Sports' started by Astro101, Nov 19, 2007.

1. Astro101

Astro101 Member

So I'm a newb at this golf thing. I'm horrible at it...so I guess practice would help me out.

I'm heading back to Houston for my Thanksgiving break and was wondering about the golf courses. I know Houston has got plenty of good ones, so I'm looking for recommendations. I don't know if I'll want to play any courses just yet, but for the future, I'd like some opinions/reviews. Nothing to fancy...just something that'll be enjoyable for a few hours. I think I'll hit up the driving range a few times this week though, just to get my swings down right before hitting the courses. Some place that will be light on the wallet.

I'm in the Aldine area/north Houston, so any places up there worth hitting up?

2. bigtexxx

bigtexxx Contributing Member

I enjoy playing Tour 18....that's in North Houston. It was in spectacular shape all summer

Memorial and Hermann Park are great public courses that don't cost too much

3. Cohen

Cohen Contributing Member

I second Tour 18. Challenging but fun; maybe a bit too 'fancy' still though. Got great discounted fees from their e-mail list this summer.

4. codell

codell Contributing Member

I find golf is not too much fun when you are overpaying to play on a nice course. That, and the pressure to keep pace, time wise, with the field.

Spend lots of time on the range and get to the point when you won't hold anyone up when you are out on the course.

There is an 18 hole course (Lake Houston World of Golf?) @ JFK and Greens Rd just south of the airport.

Kingwood also has a couple of nice community courses.

5. Astro101

Astro101 Member