1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Dwyane Wade gets away with travel on Gamewinner

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by GreatOne1978, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. heypartner

    heypartner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    63,511
    Likes Received:
    59,008
    No. I am saying the video is quoting the wrong rule. This is not a Jump Step...This is a First Step. The video producers are quoting the wrong rule as they did last year...not me.

    I quoted the correct rule. If Wade could have continued his dribble, which he could have...then that is a First Step, by the rules. Tell me in that video exactly where Wade stopped his dribble...by the NBA definition of stopping your dribble. It was not when the video said it was. This video site will continue quoting the wrong rule. Not me. I have no stake in this...they do....for money.
     
    #41 heypartner, Dec 29, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
    1 person likes this.
  2. RV6

    RV6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    25,522
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    to me, it looks like the first step is when they say it is....he's picking up his dribble there, as he plants his right foot. Then the jump stop with both feet would be step 2.
     
  3. Geaux Rockets

    Geaux Rockets Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    29
    Here's the official 2011-2012 NBA Rule Book pdf. http://www.nba.com/.element/mp3/2.0/sect/podcastmp3/PDF/2011-12-NBA-RULE-BOOK.pdf

    "Section XIII—Traveling
    a. A player who receives the ball while standing still may pivot, using either foot as the
    pivot foot.
    b. A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble,
    may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball. A player who receives the
    ball while he is progressing must release the ball to start his dribble before his second step.
    The first step occurs when a foot, or both feet, touch the floor after gaining control of
    the ball.
    The second step occurs after the first step when the other foot touches the floor, or both
    feet touch the floor simultaneously.
    A player who comes to a stop on step one when both feet are on the floor or touch the
    floor simultaneously may pivot using either foot as his pivot. If he jumps with both feet he
    must release the ball before either foot touches the floor.
    A player who lands with one foot first may only pivot using that foot.
    A progressing player who jumps off one foot on the first step may land with both feet
    simultaneously for the second step. In this situation, the player may not pivot with either
    foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either returns to
    the floor.
    c. In starting a dribble after (1) receiving the ball while standing still, or (2) coming to a
    legal stop, the ball must be out of the player’s hand before the pivot foot is raised off the
    floor.
    d. If a player, with the ball in his possession, raises his pivot foot off the floor, he must
    pass or shoot before his pivot foot returns to the floor. If he drops the ball while in the air, he
    may not be the first to touch the ball.
    e. A player who falls to the floor while holding the ball, or while coming to a stop, may
    not gain an advantage by sliding."

    The key to interpreting the rule is here: The first step occurs when a foot, or both feet, touch the floor after gaining control of the ball. and a. The dribble ends when the dribbler:
    (1) Touches the ball simultaneously with both hands
    (2) Permits the ball to come to rest while he is in control of it
    (3) Tries for a field goal
    (4) Throws a pass
    (5) Touches the ball more than once while dribbling, before it touches the floor
    (6) Loses control
    (7) Allows the ball to become dead


    Wade hasn't ended his dribble and taken the first step until he's come down with both feet on the ground and he ball in both hands on this play. For the "jump stop" part of the rule to apply, he would have to have ended his dribble by fully gathering the ball with both hands before he took the step before he came to a stop. This play isn't travelling. The video claims Wade's dribble ended before it actually did and started counting steps early. It's wrong.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. JunkyardDwg

    JunkyardDwg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    841
    I think the key is whether or not he's got two hands on the ball..and from the video it's too hard to tell. It looks to me he's touching it with two hands on the first step. Maybe he's not, but you cannot definitely say so either way.

    And at game speed forget about it. So he may have traveled, but only because he was fouled into doing so.
     
  5. RV6

    RV6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    25,522
    Likes Received:
    1,109
    it's really close...i think it comes down to where you think he gathered the ball with two hands...if you look closely, he comes down to get the ball, instead of waiting for it to come up. That makes the dribble stop sooner, but i guess its at the same time as the step, so it cancels it out. Too close to blow the whistle.
     
  6. heypartner

    heypartner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    63,511
    Likes Received:
    59,008
    It is not close at all. Wade did not end his dribble. He could have dribbled again. Thus, it is a First Step...not a Jump Step.

    don't let these video guys making money off of the confusion fool you.
     
  7. Tom Bombadillo

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    29,091
    Likes Received:
    23,992
  8. cuddie

    cuddie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,000
    Likes Received:
    103
    You're saying when he jumps and lands on both feet he could have dribbled again? He ended his dribble when he picked up the ball and jumped off his right foot (first step), landed on two feet (second/hop step), then pivoted illegally.
     
  9. heypartner

    heypartner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    63,511
    Likes Received:
    59,008
    Yes, I'm saying a dribbler can jump and land and sprawl around on the court and have sex all he wants as long as he keeps the dribble alive by not grabbing the ball with two hands...dribble is still alive. Wade's dribble was still alive when the video said it wasn't...as several of us have pointed out by quoting the NBA Rule Book.

    The refs are correct.
     
  10. RedRedemption

    RedRedemption Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    32,542
    Likes Received:
    7,752
    Everyone will get away with it.
    Its a stupid rule anyway.
     
  11. DaFranchise03

    DaFranchise03 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    7
    1 person likes this.
  12. mfastx

    mfastx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10,309
    Likes Received:
    3,913
    Travel or not, players do this all the time. It's not just LeBron James and Dwyane Wade.
     
  13. supdudes

    supdudes Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    126
    Deng traveled more ....
     
  14. ItsMyFault

    ItsMyFault Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    15,646
    Likes Received:
    978
    The Bulls will be winning the east this year so who cares. There's no room for the Miami cHeat in this years finals.
     

Share This Page