1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Drew Robinson

Discussion in 'Houston Astros' started by awc713, Feb 3, 2021.

1. awc713

awc713 Member

2. texans1095

texans1095 Member

Read it yesterday. Had me near tears at work. What an incredible story and a reminder that these guys are humans just like the rest of us. Every professional sports team needs to have him come in and speak to their team. Just an absolutely unbelievable story.

It’s also apparently streaming on ESPN+ platform as an E:60 special. Would love to watch it.

3. Snake Diggit

Snake Diggit Member

Depression and suicidal ideation can attack anybody. Anybody. That was a really good article.

I am not a doctor or mental health professional, but I am usually very surprised when a young athlete is depressed because they are likely getting enough exercise, sunlight, and are eating right. In those cases I suspect there is real childhood trauma that hasn’t been properly processed, but I also wonder how the person was sleeping. My anecdotal experience is that not getting proper sleep can completely destroy a persons mental health and if that’s not fixed then nothing else really matters.

For anyone reading this who suffers from depression and suicidal thoughts, I have dealt with it for going on 20 years, and only in the last 2 years have I finally felt like I learned how to really deal with it. I wouldn’t say I’m “cured”, but I have figured out how to prevent the most dangerous lows and the last 2 years have been the highest quality of life I have had as an adult. After trying every single on-label anti-depressant without success, after years of therapy and religion, after trying many, many off-label or otc drugs/supplements, it was these 7 things that helped me: