1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Basketball Rules Question

Discussion in 'NBA Dish' started by Thinhallen, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. giddyup

    giddyup Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    20,466
    Likes Received:
    488
    Yeah, I know... but any loss of posession of the ball would suffice. I wonder if it has ever happened in the history of free-throw shooting? Once the ref safely transfers the ball to you, I would think you have but one "loss of posession" in your arsenal-- be it a shot or a turnover.
     
  2. francis 4 prez

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    22,025
    Likes Received:
    4,552
    i got in an argument one time (or just a heated discussion since we knew each other) about being able to catch your own airball. he thought you could and i said you definitely couldn't.

    well as it turns out, in the nba you definitely can't. but apparently in college if you shoot an airball you can grab it again. now i can't remember this happening a single time in all the time i've watch college ball (though i've watched more nba) but it seems to be in the rule book. now maybe even college refs just call traveling under the pretext that it wasn't an actual shot attempt if it doesn't hit something and thus it is traveling. if it were allowed i don't see how people wouldn't abuse it. go up on one side of the basket, realize you're in trouble, lob it in the air over the defender and then run and catch it on the other side and lay it in. obviously it's hard to think of that and you're first inclination is to try to make the basket, but it leaves open the potential for abuse and the nba rule is far better.

    but has anyone ever actually seen a college player shoot an airball (presumably close to the basket) and then grab it again with no violation?
     
  3. WhoMikeJames

    WhoMikeJames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    12,691
    Likes Received:
    306
    What really confuses me is when players drive to the lane and jump inside and then make a layup. its called like a power hop or something. Wouldn't that be up and down?
     
  4. macalu

    macalu Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    16,942
    Likes Received:
    836
    lol, it may have been bad reffing. i just remember the non-call b/c ever since then i'd argue it on the court. i don't see how it could be traveling anymore than someone taking a hop step. a hop step (especially after 2 steps which i see happen often), on the otherhand, should be traveling.
     
  5. macalu

    macalu Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    16,942
    Likes Received:
    836
    hop step? i'm questioning it in my last post also.
     
  6. candlegreen

    candlegreen Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    55
    I think in the hop step, you're still coming off the dribble and taking a jump shot, except players take advantage of the hop step to change the tempo against shot blockers.

    About jumping then dribbling, you shouldn't be able to move both your feet (no pivot) before you start dribbling. I believe that should be a travelling call in all seriousness.
     
  7. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0

    Lol..Just to cloud the arguement even more, if you can hop step, shouldnt you be able to just jump and land without dribbling? Or what if you fake shoot while you hop step, is this traveling? Logically it seems like it shouldnt be.
     
  8. rage

    rage Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    41
    A dribble is a push or a tap on a ball.
    You can guide the ball in one direction but not in 2 directions in a single movement.
    It's disallowed any time any where. The ball is out of bound when it goes behind the backboard or hit the support.
    The ball is inbound if it hits any of the 4 sides of the backboard.
    This implies the ball is blocked out of your hand then it is true.
    I don't know what kind of referees you talked to but is is always a travel. If you receive the ball with at least one foot on the ground, then jump in the air with it, if you land with the ball in your hand, it is up and down or travel.
     
  9. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    See: Iverson, Marbury, Francis
    Incorrect, Kobe made one this year, Its only out if it hits the shot clock or supports.
    Technically your not landing with it in your hand if its being dribbled from the air and again I never said it wasn't a travel, just a grey area.

    I also think the hop step disproves your point according to how your definition is worded.
     
  10. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. pchan

    pchan Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is not rocket science. The thing you were describing is definitely a violation of the rule. And Rage was right.

    When you have the ball with your feet on the ground, one of your feet will be your pivot. And you can't lift your pivot foot off the ground unless 1) you shoot the ball 2) you start dribbling, and if you are to dribble, you have to wait until the ball touch the ground before you lift up you pivot foot. So, there is no way you can jump up with both feet off the ground, and THEN decide you want to dribble. You have to either shoot the ball or pass it, either way, you have already lost your possesion.
     
  12. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're right.
    This is from nba.com
    Traveling: To start a dribble, the ball must be released from a player’s hand before his pivot foot leaves the floor or he has committed a traveling violation.

    SO, you could drop the dribble and jump in the air before it hits the ground?
     
  13. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    To sound less like an idiot I am just trying to be devils advocate here
     
  14. AMS

    AMS Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,646
    Likes Received:
    218
    what if you shoo the ball and all it touches is the net, can the offensive player grab the ball again, or is that not allowed?
     
  15. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    not allowed....Rim, backboard, or another player only
     
  16. macalu

    macalu Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    16,942
    Likes Received:
    836
    if that's the case, Yao travels on every initial face up move he makes. i'm not saying you are wrong but the refs obviously aren't calling it.
     
  17. ClutchCityReturns

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    13,449
    Likes Received:
    2,720
    Why am I not surprised?
     
  18. ClutchCityReturns

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    13,449
    Likes Received:
    2,720
    I just thought of one myself.

    Let's say 2 players are on a fast break all alone and one wants to throw an alley-oop to the other, but does so by bouncing it off the floor and toward the backboard. Now what happens (if by some miracle) the ball banks into the basket instead? Is it 2 points? What if someone throws a shot full court at the buzzer, it falls short, then after the buzzer the ball somehow bounces into the rim? Does it count since they released it in time?

    Also, about the changing direction while dribbling question...

    I do believe it's perfectly legal. If I'm thinking of the right thing, it's called an "in and out dribble" and we used to do drills for it in high school (ask Ognilecaf).
     
  19. FlyerFanatic

    FlyerFanatic YOU BOYS LIKE MEXICO!?! YEEEHAAWW
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    7,457
    Likes Received:
    189

    If they threw it off the ground and it banked in, it should be 2 pts, unless they're outside the 3 pt arch or something when they threw the pass. Second question, well if they threw it, it fell short the buzzer sounded and the ball bounced i would think it wouldnt count. Key thing being it hit the floor after the buzzer sounded (wouldnt the ball hitting the floor after the buzzer be considered a "dead" ball?). I dont know for sure, i am just going off by what I would say in those scenarios.
     
  20. Ognilecaf

    Ognilecaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol...its fun...

    Im going to look up that ball at the buzzer now..We've talked about that for too long not to know the answer....And yes its an in and out move on the dribbling question.
     

Share This Page