1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Astros.com] Huff likes being a Stro

Discussion in 'Houston Astros' started by wrath_of_khan, Aug 2, 2006.

1. wrath_of_khan

wrath_of_khan Member

Hey, at least one guy is happy after the trading deadline! ;)

Seriously, read this piece by Huff and tell me we don't have a great chance to re-sign him:

http://houston.astros.mlb.com/NASAp...t_id=1587441&vkey=news_hou&fext=.jsp&c_id=hou

Huff: Playing for a contender
    08/01/2006 10:39 AM ET
    MLBPLAYERS.com

The difference is like night and day, going from Tampa Bay to Houston. Being in contention is something I've never done before. We've still got a long way to go this season, and this club has the talent to make a run at the postseason again. My job is to help make that happen.

Personally, it's still going to take some time to adjust to the National League, getting around and seeing teams and players for the first time. Hopefully, I'll be able to adjust very quickly.

I've been playing third, but with Morgan Ensberg coming back, I can adapt. I've played first, third, right field and left field my whole career. My thing is versatility. Whatever gets me in the lineup, I'll do. And that's probably one of the reasons the Astros acquired me. As long as I'm in the lineup, I'll play wherever.

One thing I've noticed in the few weeks I've been here is the great sense of professionalism in the clubhouse. I'd been on such young teams my whole career that I'd forgotten how older teams operate.

You see how Hall of Fame guys act around here -- Roger Clemens, Craig Biggio and Andy Pettitte. I just haven't been around presences like that in the clubhouse before. They definitely have a different presence.