1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Any CPAs here? Question regarding business expense

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Medicine N Music, Apr 8, 2021.

1. Medicine N Music

Medicine N Music Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

If I give a personal loan to "Medicine N Music, PLLC" for $50k, and then turn around to purchase 2% of a company for $50k that I will work at (will receive1099 for time and K-1 for distributions), does the $50k count as an expense for "Medicine N Music, PLLC"?

If not, when I return the loan from the PLLC to my personal account, is this event taxable?

2. larsv8

larsv8 Contributing Member

Well, I am a financial accountant, but not a tax accountant, so this could be wrong. (Disclaimer)

Are you, the person, buying the 2%, or is the PLLC buying the 2%?

Either way, buying companies is an equity transaction, not an expense.

sammy and Xerobull like this.
  3. Medicine N Music

Supporting Member

Sorry, the PLLC is buying the 2%.

I work another job where 1099 income is coming straight to me instead of the PLLC. Since this isn't an expense on the loan, it almost makes sense for me to have the 1099 job pay the PLLC instead, and use the money from the PLLC to pay the 2%. This way, I don't get taxed on the money that I will use anyway for the equity transaction. Does this sound reasonable?

4. larsv8

larsv8 Contributing Member

Is MnM paying you 1099 now? Will they stop once the theoretical transaction occurs?

Medicine N Music likes this.
  5. TMac'n

TMac'n Contributing Member

I'm trying to understand, I'm seeing that there are two transactions here: (1) a $50k loan, and (2) a $50k contribution for ownership stake in the LLC.