1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[UH/Robert Wuhl]A Return to Ole Miss: How Far We’ve Come

Discussion in 'Houston Texans' started by ryan17wagner, Oct 6, 2008.

1. ryan17wagner

ryan17wagner Member

The first 2008 presidential debate was held at the University of Mississippi. As part of the festivities, the university invited me to perform my pop-history monologue “Assume the Position.” I immediately agreed. Suddenly I was back in 1970.

I was a sophomore at the University of Houston. That November, our underrated Cougars football team traveled to Oxford to play Ole Miss, a top-10 team aiming for a national championship behind a strong-armed quarterback named Archie Manning. The Cougars had beaten Ole Miss the previous two years, and Manning (along with the rest of the state) wanted revenge. A rabid fan, I, along with a few dormmates, decided to make the drive from Houston.

It wasn’t as easy as it sounded.

This was 1970. The heart of the hawk/dove Vietnam era. The year of the Kent State shootings. “Easy Rider” came out the previous year, and the images of driving in the Deep South with my bushy Jew-fro did not lend itself to a sense of serenity. I also had a typical East Coast “I’m right, you’re wrong” college attitude. Perhaps some of my confidence (arrogance?) had been learned from my freshman roommate, a surfer dude and art major named Julian Schnabel.

Oh, there was one other thing. Houston was among the first major college programs in the South to allow black players. This was a fact of no small importance.