1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

The effect of stress on the body

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by bigtexxx, Nov 3, 2013.

1. bigtexxx

bigtexxx Contributing Member

In watching Gary Kubiak collapse tonight, we don't know for certain whether stress played a role in it or not.

However, I was sitting there thinking about how stress can really negatively impact your body, even to the point of death. A few years ago I lost a friend who died at the age of 37 -- he was the most stressed out person I've ever been around, and died due to heart issues. Then think about Ken Lay, former Enron CEO. He died only months after the company came down. Think about Joe Paterno, who died in the months after the Penn State / Sandusky incident.

I'm not a doctor, but mental health and stress reduction is something we should not take lightly.

1 person likes this.
  2. Ubiquitin

Ubiquitin Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

3. cheke64

cheke64 Member

What happened to Kubiak?

4. Commodore

Commodore Contributing Member

inflammation causes heart attacks, and inflammation is directly related to stress

5. rocketblaze

rocketblaze Member

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/RcGyVTAoXEU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

6. Xerobull

Xerobull You son of a b!tch! I'm in!

Ken Lay is living on a beach in South America.

But yeah, stress is bad.

7. Nice Rollin

Nice Rollin Contributing Member

8. tinman

tinman Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

Good post bigtexx

9. cardpire

cardpire Member

Good post.

In what ways did your buddy's stress manifest itself? What was the cause?

10. Sadat X

Sadat X Member