1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Recommendations for jobs in Texas?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Franchise3, Aug 10, 2010.

1. Franchise3

Franchise3 Member

I'd love to find a job in Texas. I've never lived there, but it seems like a great place to live. I'm most interested in the cities of Houston, Austin, and Dallas. I have a degree in Finance and a J.D. I have experience working at the State Attorney's Office and as an in-house attorney for a regional company. All together, I have only a little over a year of experience working as an attorney.

I would prefer to work in a transactional capacity rather than in litigation if I worked as an attorney. Any jobs that can use my finance degree, or an intersection of my finance degree and law degree would be great too. Also, a public sector job would be a BIG plus with my student loans.

Having said all the above, does anyone have an good recommendations on where I should look for a job in Texas (specific companies, state or federal organizations, etc)? Any knowledge of any openings that would fit my education and experience?

2. kpsta

kpsta Contributing Member

The energy sector would probably provide the largest pool of jobs here in Houston - whether its transactions or litigation that interest you. I know my company has a posting out there, but it looks like a senior position reporting to the general counsel. Email me through the board if you want more info.

3. rockbox

rockbox Around before clutchcity.com

The state AG's office in Austin. It doesn't pay much though.

4. DieHard Rocket

DieHard Rocket Contributing Member

I don't know where you live now, but Dallas sucks. So be prepared for that if you take a job there.

5. Big MAK

Big MAK Member