1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Question about Employers and Wages

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Rocket Guy, Nov 3, 2010.

Tags:
  1. Rocket Guy

Rocket Guy Member

I am a manager at a small business. We have switched all of our time clock needs to Time Clock Plus. Well, we have a bunch of teenagers working for us, and they miss a lot of punches. The general thought of the rest of the managers is that if they forget to clock in, they dont get paid for the whole day. It is extremely easy to fix these hours in the admin part of the program. Is there anything legally where we are not obligated to not pay them? I'm cool with it either way, they should remember to clock in if they want to get paid. I could see a fine of some sort, but not paying them for the whole day seems kind of extreme. Any advice is appreciated.

2. Royals Ego

Royals Ego Member

if they forgot to clock in, they do not get paid

end of story

3. Fatty FatBastard

Really? Unless every employee has signed something stating that if they don't punch in they don't get paid, you'll have a lawsuit on your hands.

Pay them, and reconsider your management career.

4. raj87

raj87 Member

Rocket Guy, what you are proposing is entirely unethical.

5. DonnyMost

DonnyMost be kind. be brave.
    Supporting Member

If you don't pay them, then they'll probably start punching their timecards.

If you fine them for it, expect blowback.

But if you expressly tell them they WILL NOT be paid unless they punch in, and they don't, kinda hard to blame you.

6. rrj_gamz

rrj_gamz Contributing Member

hahaha...he's back...

although I tend to agree, if its easy on an admin part, i would say have them do extra etc if they continually forget...there has to be consequences...

7. Blake

Blake Contributing Member