1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Please help me change up my workout routine

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Rox_fan_here, Oct 4, 2010.

1. Rox_fan_here

Rox_fan_here Contributing Member

LONG DETAILED POST BELOW

Hey guys here is the background info. I just turned 29. I am 5'10 and weigh 195 lbs, although I just got back from a weeks vacation in the Caribbean at an all inclusive resort and realistically have pushed it to 200. I would say that my body fat count is around 16-18%. I have been working out on and off for the past 5 years but never have achieved an awesome chiseled body that I have wanted. I know that most of this has to do with me not following a strict diet for an extended period of time.

Over the course of my workout history I have basically followed one type of workout routine that I got from The Body for Life Book a few years ago.

Basically it was:

Monday - Chest, Shoulders, Back, Biceps, Triceps
    Tuesday - Cardio
    Wednesday - Quads, Hamstrings, Calves, Abs
    Thursday - Cardio
    Friday - Chest, Shoulders, Back, Biceps, Triceps
    Saturday - Cardio
    Sunday - Rest

The next week would start with lower body and continue the cycle.

Each muscle group was separated into 6 sets increasing weight steadily and resting 1 minute between each set. The final two sets would be burnout sets with no rest in between. The sets would be divided into the following reps. 12 x 10 x 8 x 6 then 12 and a burnout set of 12 but a different exercise. So an example of my chest workout would be:

Dumbbell Bench Press (lbs)
    50 x 12
    minute rest
    60 x 10
    minute rest
    70 x 8
    minute rest
    80 x 6
    minute rest
    70 x 12 no rest and immediately dumbbell flies
    40 x 12