1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

My 4 Months in Africa

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by arno_ed, Jun 8, 2006.

1. arno_ed

arno_ed Contributing Member

From The beginning of February until this week i stayed in South africa. So i missed most of the season. In this thread i would like to share my experiences with you all, because these 4 months were unbelieveble.

I went to south africa for my study(biology), I stayed in a research camp in the Timbavati private nature park. This is part of the Greater kruger national park.I studied Elephant and impala diets from the end of the wet season untill the dry season, and i looked at what changed.

The research camp was in the middle of the Bush, which means that i had to drive 1,5 hours trough the nature reserve to get to the closest small town. We went to the town once a week, to do shopping, and for me look at clutchfans.net (unfortunatly we one had about 1 hour to do shopping and internet, so i couldn't read the bbs)Because it was so remote we had no electricity, and we lived close to the animals. Our research camp did not have a fence around it, so almost every night i woke up because a hyena or lion or buffalo, or rhino or elephant walked past my window. When i looked out my window we could see a waterwhole where the animals could drink, so we saw animals around our camp every day.