1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Khanacademy.org - get to learning

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Dr of Dunk, Mar 16, 2011.

1. Dr of Dunk

Dr of Dunk Clutch Crew

Sal Khan is a pretty brilliant guy who was working as an analyst at a hedge fund, but decided to give all that up for a more "human" goal. Or as he states in the video "Here I was an analyst at a hedge fund - it was very strange for me to do something of social value".

This all started when he put up some videos for his cousins to help them learn math. The videos got great response from his cousins as well as lots of other people who thought his video method of teaching was helpful. So he gave up his job at the hedge fund to start a website where he does free videos of himself teaching all kinds of stuff : math, biology, chemistry, business, etc. The site and videos are free. Bill Gates fell in love with the concept and promotes the site often as well as has his kids using it.

The site is : http://www.khanacademy.org

Video from 2011 TED conference :

<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/gM95HHI4gLk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

FYI : Another similar learning site with college lectures from professors on video is http://www.academicearth.org.

1 person likes this.
  2. WinorLoseMate

WinorLoseMate Member

I've used his videos on youtube as well as a general source of information/revision right before an exam and found it extremely useful. Even more so than what I learnt through the whole duration of a semester, though that might have been more to do with me panicing a few days before the exam.
    I applaud the work he's done in trying to help others without wanting anything in return.

3. lpbman

lpbman Member