1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Help a basketball newbie out

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by wil55n, Aug 6, 2012.

1. wil55n

wil55n Member

Hi guys,

I'm new to basketball.I became interested because of Lin, so I think you would call me an "LOF". However I credit Lin for now making me a follower of the New York Knicks, in particular Tyson Chandler and Iman Shumpert, so maybe LOF might not be the best description. Now that he is with Houston, I've started to read up on Houston's background and from what I see so far, I can really imagine myself cheering for Houston regardless of where Lin plays. The NYK just seemed a little too "glitzy" for my taste, but I really did grow fond of some of the players.

Anyway, there's some questions I hope you guys can answer from a fans perspective:

• I would like to attend a Houston game at their home court. It would be a once in a lifetime thing for me so it would be a pretty big event for me. How early do tickets sell out? Would I have to plan to get a ticket weeks/months in advance?

• What was the reaction here like when Yao Ming was signed? I noticed Lin getting about a 50/50 rating of overrated/underrated on these forums which I think is reasonable. Yao seems to have a reasonable amount of respect on these forums, I'm wondering if that was always the case, or if he had to prove himself.

2 people like this.
  2. RedNation

RedNation Contributing Member

The tickets won't sell out and Toyota center is usually half empty.

3. eddiewinslow

eddiewinslow Member

unless you go rockets vs heat or lakers, you should be able to get very good seats on any night you want

4. wil55n

wil55n Member