1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Have you been a member of the blue-collar work force

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by CCorn, May 5, 2012.

?

Have you worked a blue-collar job?

1. Yes

75.3%
  2. No

24.7%
  1. CCorn

CCorn Member

Have you worked a labor intensive job?

2. RedRedemption

RedRedemption Contributing Member

I'm a student. :D (And that's why I voted no.)

3. Northside Storm

Northside Storm Contributing Member

I've had one or two summer blue-collar jobs, depending on if you consider going door-to-door collecting census forms "blue-collar".

4. Classic

Classic Member

Toughest but most enlightening work I ever experienced. Worked for a general contractor in an industrial chemical plant as a pipe fitter-helper. I was a freakin grunt. Hardest $18/hr I ever earned.

5. rimrocker

rimrocker Contributing Member

A lot of stuff when in HS/college. Loaded hay bales, McDonalds, delivered furniture, worked in a warehouse, convenience store clerk, intramural BBall ref, paddleboat rental guy/maintenance at a state park, and HS football.

Occasionally, my current job could probably be considered non-white collar.

6. meh

meh Contributing Member

Without context, not sure why this is D&D. Anyway, was a waiter during my college days. Since then, I've moved on to jobs that got me addicted to wasting time on the internet debating meaningless stuff.

1 person likes this.
  7. Dubious

Dubious Contributing Member

never as a full time, year round job but I have:

cleared drainage ditches
    built trailer frames
    built air conditioners
    pipefitter's helper at a smelly chemical plant
    delivered furniture

and, poured the concrete for the elevator shaft at Kyle Field (elv. 237')

all of which sucked ass.