1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Emergency video file/codec help!

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by professorjay, Jul 2, 2013.

1. professorjay

professorjay Contributing Member

Maybe someone can break this down for me. I'm not a video expert by any means, but I landed a side gig where I edit and produce a short web show.

They've given me .m4v files. These are from their live video broadcasts which I then use to edit and produce a news/highlight show.

When I watch the source files in VLC the picture is too narrow. So I change the setting in VLC to use a 16:9 aspect ratio and it looks fine. I guess 16:10 looks good too, but I'm guessing 16:9 is the right one? I've checked in Handbrake and video ratio is 768x564. My math tells me 768x432 looks proper.

The second problem when watching the files is you can see 'lines'. As if you watched a CRT tv up close. It's kind of like pixelation but in long horizontal lines, noticeable around objects moving, people, etc. I'm sure someone knows what I'm talking about. So I turn 'deinterlace' on in the playback settings of VLC and it looks much better.

I use iMovie to do all the editing. Video pros, I know it's rudimentary and I plan on upgrading my computer whenever the new 15" Macbook Pros come out so I can step up to Final Cut or Premiere and dive deeper.

But in the meantime, I need to convert these files into an .mp4 file compatible with iMovie that has a proper aspect ratio and is deinterlaced....I assume. So please tell me if I'm right so far.

And second. What's the best program to do this in and how? I'm about to use Handbrake to give it another go. I've already spent 2 hrs doing test conversions and it hasn't worked out. I just realized these options in VLC to make it look watchable.