1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Does anyone know a good software for building websites?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by RocksMillenium, Jul 18, 2011.

Tags:
  1. RocksMillenium

RocksMillenium Contributing Member

I want to build a website to promote some of my projects but I'm not an expert in HTML and other codes so I just wanted to buy a software for building a page. It could be free or commercial, I'm willing to shell out the dough. Thanks! :)

2. London'sBurning

London'sBurning Contributing Member

Wordpress. It's free to download. Comes with themes that you can later customize and its easy enough to learn on your own by messing around with the interface.

3. rockbox

rockbox Around before clutchcity.com

+1 If you are going to change the content often, word press is the way to go. You can also pay for some professional templates that are nicer than the free ones.

4. PinoyRocket

PinoyRocket Member

notepad is free.

5. Rocket River

Rocket River Member

I hear alot about WordPress. I downloaded it to my computer but don't see an executable. Did I download the wrong thing? I look at the instructions it states something about my webserver. [I don't have one] Is that something I need to set on my computer? [VM webserver?]

Rocket River

6. Scionxa

Scionxa Contributing Member

I like Drupal.

7. Scionxa

It's not that type, you have to install on the server. You need to create a database, extract the files via FTP. Make sure you have Apache or IIS with PHP5 or greater. I forgot the exact requirements. Your webhost should be able to tell you. If you don't already have a web server, if you have Win 7 Pro, install IIS 7, or use a linux machine and play around with Apache and install it locally so you can play around with it .