1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Bench production observations

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by Hilarious, Mar 9, 2014.

1. Hilarious

Hilarious Member

Soo first of all, I never EVER thought I gonna be starting a thread on here, but today I was bored and had some spare time. Have to add, that I'm NOT an expert stats guy and never had stat courses after the basic ones :p

Well to the topic now..
    Recently there were some guys questioning our bench production to the point where comments were made like, ''our bench suxx'' ''in the po's they are gonna be our reason of fail!!!'' etc.

To me, that was clearly not the case, and I thought how can I measure the bench production beyond the basic +/- and ppg/rpg stats. I can tell I am still working on that :grin:

But in the meantime I tried to at least have some better ways to look into the stats to be able to at least compare the production to an extent.

These tables are, what I came up with..I am gonna post our Rockets and the Clippers for comparison (I have also the same stat allocation table for the Thunder and the Spurs being our biggest rivals in the West, if there is a positive reaction to this one I will post them too.)

[​IMG]

so as you can see I focused solely on the bench and compare them to the last 15 opponents we faced. Figures in red just mean, that we were worse in that regard (or in the case of secs/mins played had less) than the other team.

The Wins/Losses stuff is some conclusion I took out of the data. If the bench +/- simulated to 100 minutes (total for the whole bench) has a greater value either on the + side for wins or on the negative side in losses COMPARED to the win/loss margin of the final score I considered this the reason for a win/loss.