1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Any Coaches Here?

Discussion in 'Other Sports' started by vator, Dec 31, 2008.

1. vator

vator Contributing Member

Just wondering if we have any coaches here on CF. Doesn't matter what sport or what level. Football, basketball, baseball, soccer, tennis, etc...pee wee, little league, middle school, high school, AAU, college, etc...

I have been coaching football and/or basketball for several years at either the middle or high school level. I also have a few close ties to some AAU basketball coaches. I really enjoy it (most of the time). I currently work at a school where there is a ton of pressure to win games because we historically have good teams so the wins are unfortunately more of a relief than anything and the losses (which fortunately for me so far, don't happen too often) can be stressful. I have an uncle who is the head coach at a small D1 program and I used to wonder why he worked so hard, but now I know. He was an assistant at a couple of SEC powers prior to taking over this job. They made the NCAA tournament a few years ago for the first time in a long time, but got spanked by one of the big boys. Before he got there, they were chronic losers, but now they expect him to put out 20 win seasons, conference championships, and trips to the big dance. Whatever he goes through must be exponentially greater than whatever I think I'm experiencing so you work hard to get to the top and even harder to stay there.