1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Another Yao Ming's interview

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by pickymen, Aug 27, 2003.

1. pickymen

pickymen Contributing Member

Hi all, my first post here. So be nice:)

I've found an article dated 26/08/03 and translated only the interview part. Seems to be a genuine tv interview else effort wasted, it's so loong.

The First Part
    Wu: I saw some information about you, it says that you didn't like to play basketball when you were young. It's because of your height.
    Yao: I remember when i started playing basketball it's partly due to the reason which you
    mentioned, but there's a combination of many factors. It's just like in the country many parents force their children to learn to play piano, they say it's to learn another thing, so that there is another means for living. But the reason they (let me) play basketball was not because they wished (I) can make a living by playing basketball. Because comparing playing basketball with playing piano or learning to write etc, it felt a bit one-dimensional. And because a lot of exercising will inhibit many other things; to me many times it felt like being forced to learn piano. But my parents didn't force me to do this, they only hoped that after school and finishing my homework, I won't hang out and become mischievous, that's why I started playing basketball. This may be a fate/coincident.

Wu: After that when did you actually start to like basketball?
    Yao: About 18-19 years old. I started playing basketball when I was 9. It took almost 10 years’ time.

Wu: To actually like playing?