1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Angry at bill collector who harrassed my wife - what can I do?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by haven, Jan 24, 2006.

Tags:
  1. haven

haven Member

My 8.5 months-pregnant wife received a call today from a debt collector from CitiFinancial. He, without saying so many words, informed her that her mother-in-law (my mom) had a debt. He then asked for the #. My wife offered the address, and also said she would pass on a message, but refused to give out the phone # - and honestly replied that she did not even know her mother-in-law's # (it's in my cell - I doubt we have it written anywhere). He became a little harassing.

She requested to be taken off the list, and informed him of two statutory provisions he was violating. You see, I'm an attorney - and my wife is in her 3rd year of law school - and is ironically taking a consumer rights class right now - so she could even cite the provisions he was violating.

He called her stupid and told her she didn't know what she was talking about. He kept on pestering her, and became very aggressive, essentially making up laws. He refused to give an address or a last name, but only an accounts-receivable address.

I'm very angry. I'm a baby lawyer (first year out of law school). I'm also a federal law clerk, so I have plenty of time to make CitiFinancial miserable, if it would actually result in anything.

To be honest, I'd really like this guy to be fired. My wife called me crying and upset. He didn't know she was 8.5 months pregnant - but that still makes me even angrier.