[Video] Officials appear to miss Russell Westbrook backcourt violation (Ruled incorrect call)

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by Clutch, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. BigM

    BigM Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    11,966
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    So it was definitely a backcourt violation correct?
     
  2. Sweet Lou 4 2

    Sweet Lou 4 2 Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    19,765
    Likes Received:
    1,482
    I can see that as if I jump to catch the ball and the momentum takes me to the other side that shouldn't be a violation but tipping is a means of gaining an advantage in the case that there is a scramble for the ball.

    Still, I just think they should make the rules simpler.
     
  3. JayZ750

    JayZ750 Contributing Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Messages:
    17,902
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    One can make crazy arguments for either way.

    Cause it's way too complex.

    They should have never added the rule allowing for backcourt inbounds. Because if you're inbounding from the front court, you already have possession in the front court and going back would be classic over and back.

    But they changed the rule... obstensibly to give offensive teams more advantage tonadd offense and keep end of game situations more exciting.

    Once that was done they opened a rabbit hole where they had to consider these random ass scenarios.

    They should just keep it simple.

    EG - you can inbound to the backcourt but if in any way you touch it first in the front court and then go to backcourt it's a violation.
     
    CDrex, Ramo$e and Kim like this.
  4. Brown Lost It

    Brown Lost It Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    1,554
    man nobody knows the rules, not here, not in the NBA, not the officials, not ronnie nun, not nobody.
     
  5. davidxhz

    davidxhz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    68
  6. AkeemTheDreem86

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    104
    So last night was, in fact, a backcourt violation?
     
  7. JuanValdez

    JuanValdez Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    26,430
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    What kind of rule is this? Do they consider what day of the week it is? I know they've done some other carve-outs for the last 2 minutes, and I think they should get rid of all of them. The game shouldn't change at crunch time. If a positive attainment rule works in crunch time, it should work all the time.
     
    Ramo$e likes this.
  8. txtony

    txtony Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,426
    Likes Received:
    800
    all kind of rules changed in the last 2 mins... entertainment is the driving force
     
  9. bulkatron

    bulkatron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    305
    I thought it was backcourt too at first, but I think they had the right call on the court. He didn't really establish control until he was in the backcourt.
     
  10. khanhdum

    khanhdum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    748
    It's a violation.

    EXCEPTION: During the last two minutes of the fourth period and the last two minutes of any overtime period, the ball may be passed anywhere (frontcourt or backcourt) on the court. However, if the ball is thrown into the frontcourt and an offensive player on the court fails to control the ball and causes it to go into the backcourt, his team may not be the first to touch the ball.

    That's from the 2017 rule book. Page 29 - Section III


    That's what happened I think, totally different from having momentum in the front court and taking the player in the back. The tip he didn't have the momentum to have the ball back there, he touched it in the front court and then mishandled it and then first to touch in the back court.
     
  11. Pizza_Da_Hut

    Pizza_Da_Hut Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,635
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Wait, so it wasn't a catch? Pass interference? I'm so confused.
     
  12. Clutch

    Clutch Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    20,024
    Likes Received:
    5,376
    I guess we will find out with an L2M report today?
     
  13. bulkatron

    bulkatron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    305
    Agreed, let's see the official report. My take is that he has to have control of the ball and have forward momentum.
     
    Ramo$e likes this.
  14. bro2044

    bro2044 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,872
    Likes Received:
    588
    Yeh, definitely a violation from the rules I see. WB wasnt in the act of catching and momentum carrying him across the line, it was literally a wide pass that he tipped in the frontcourt, then went into the backcourt to gather. Ha, that BS changed the last minute of the game. No 3, plus we get ball and retain momentum.

    Ah wells, a W regardless. :)
     
    TracywtFacy and Ramo$e like this.
  15. tmac2therack

    tmac2therack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    220
    NBA just ruled it an incorrect non-call in the last 2 minutes report
     
  16. Fullcourt

    Fullcourt Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,349
    Likes Received:
    1,045
  17. Deuce

    Deuce Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    14,874
    Likes Received:
    2,663


     
    Ramo$e likes this.
  18. heypartner

    heypartner Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    47,100
    Likes Received:
    13,436
    Ramo$e and BigM like this.
  19. CCity Zero

    CCity Zero Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    249
  20. BigM

    BigM Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    11,966
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    No doubt. Everyone in the building, on the court, and watching on tv thought it was a backcourt violation. We didn't know for sure until now but that doesn't excuse the fact that all 3 refs either thought it was a violation and still didn't blow the whistle or didn't know the rules to begin with. This is a playoff game.
     
Loading...

Share This Page