1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Start D-Howard at the 4?

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by Comic Book Nerd, Jul 15, 2013.

1. Comic Book Nerd

Go easy on me peoples. I'm still a relative noob, but I've been reading so much lately on the head scratcher of: What to do with Omer?

Saw one article on trying to teach Asik to shoot 3's and turn him into a stretch 4, and another saying that says to just force Asik to play 15-20mins a game and deal with it, another saying just trade Omer and get it over with if Asik and DHoward stumble over each other's huge sneakers.

So what about Howard starting at the 4? He's more mobile than Asik and he wouldn't have to do as much dirty work? But then shift Howard back over to the 5 when Omer sits after the first?

So basically try to keep both on the floor at the same time, but shift Dwight back and forth from the 4 and 5. I mean if we've got hybrid players like Harden basically playing 1&2 why not have Howard play 4&5?

Just curious to hear what some of you all might think?

1 person likes this.
  2. HR Dept

HR Dept Contributing Member

Naw, @ the 5.

3. primtim24

primtim24 Contributing Member

I won't kill you for this thread, because if one of them has to play the 4 it should be Howard....but you will probably get killed because there have been quite a few threads on this before. But I'm ok with it in short stints.

4. Phillyrocket

Phillyrocket Member

If they both were to start that would be the plan.

5. RV6

RV6 Contributing Member

Because Howard is more likely to get in foul trouble against a quicker 4 and/or will get pulled away from the basket, which isnt good because he's a better shot blocker than Omer.

6. pass_to_Hakeem