I am seeking a bit of clarity here, you guys see the call near the end of the game where Wafer went up, had the ball knocked out of his hands by Yao and then came down, gathered the ball and went back up, and the Refs called traveling. As an old referee, I am trying to find the travel....as soon as he lost it, and it touched Yao Ming, he should have been free to bring it down, dribble, jump or anything else. Once it left his possession shouldn't it have been a no-call? Thanks, DD
Was it knocked out of his hands while he was in the air, or after he came back down? If his hands stayed on the ball when landed on the ground, that's a travel. If it was an opponent who got his hand on it, then at best you can get a jump ball out of it. But if its a teammate, the refs have no choice but to call it a travel.
i dont think he lost control of the ball. he had to drop the ball, then pick it back up. im pretty sure it was a travel.
He definitely lost the ball. I doubt anyone will post video of this, so here's the sequence as I remember it: 1. Von jumps 2. The ball is knocked out of Von's hands (seemingly by Yao) while Von is in the air 3. Von regains control of the ball while still in the air 4. Von's feet return to the floor 5. Travel is called before Von can go back up with it As for the ruling, I wasn't 100% sure myself. From what I understand, Yao hitting it constituted a brief loss and then regaining of possession for Von, which should have allowed him to return to the court legally. Oh well.
It seemed to me like he didn't lose control of the ball, if he did, it may have happened twice, as in he tried to go up, lost it before jumping, then got it back and tried to go back up and bumped into yao again and came down still holding the ball......either way, it was a bad angle, so i'm guessing the refs possibly just didnt see where/if he let go of the ball and the play was too questionable to just let it go.
I think it left his hands completely bounced off of Yao's side arm, Von gethered it again and went back up. As I understand it, that should not be a travel. DD
I think that it's just a case where the refs didn't see the ball touch Yao, but saw it as passing it to himself.
Maybe. Those type of officiating mistakes, if that's what happened, don't bother me. If Wafer doesn't have the body control to properly hold on to the ball, and Yao is too slow to get the hell out of his teammate's way, then why should the Rockets complain? They screwed up, and they just need to execute better. Don't expect the refs to bail you out when you put yourself in that position.
I missed the game. How many calls were missed by the refs? For and against Rox' welfare? Yeah, I know about Timmy D. My question is straight up, tho.