1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

2. Live Rockets Discussion
    Jalen Green looks like a legit star, Amen Thompson is shining and the Rockets have found something without Alperen Sengun. Clutch is talking about the 10-game winning streak at 11:00am as we talk Rockets live!

Talking Rockets - LIVE!

Some thoughts...

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by rocketteen, Jul 2, 2001.

1. rocketteen

rocketteen Member

I'm not even going to pretend that I'm a cap expert, but I think I do know a few tidbits about it that have brought some questions to my mind...Starting with:

1)I believe that we have a 4.5 mil exception, which can be used to sign multiple players. If I'm not mistaken though, we lose it once we get under the cap. If that is true, and the Rockets must re-sign or renounce Hakeem b/f we are able to re-sign our own free agents, then the Rockets must actually sign outside free agents to the exception b/f even dealing w/ Hakeem.

2)Continuing off of #1, I believe the 18th is the first day that we can sign free agents. I predict that there will be lots of rumors about possible players signing with the Rockets for the exception leading up to the 18th. Some possible players would be Jerome Williams, possibly Alvin Williams, Nazr Mohammed, Brad Miller if his release option is exercised and Fred Hoiberg can be had cheap.